DHH End of season festival

Dundee Hawkhill Harriers end of season festival

23rd Sept 2017

U11 to U20 end of season festival will take place at the Caird Park on 23rd Sept.

This is a club event only.

There will be 4 events, 2 Track, 2 Field. You can chose which ones you want to do, or do them all.

Events are: 200m (100m for U11), 1200m (800m U11), Long jump and Shot putt

Individual medals will be given out for 1st place in events, there will also be medals for overall winners, who compete in all 4 events, for each age group.

You must sign up before the day. On the day entries will not be accepted!

Further information will be provided shortly, speak to your coach for more information or to sign up.

1st additional hill race added to championship series

The first additional hill race added to the current championship series will take place on Saturday 26th August. This will be the race which is part of the Auchterhouse Sports Day. The race starts at 3pm and you can register on the day. Auchterhouse Sports day committee would like anyone intending to race to use the online form to indicate numbers. It’s not binding or compulsory but helps them organise the race. Copy and paste the shortcut below into your browser

Entry fee is £3




New records set at White Tops Hill Race

Local athletes set new course records at last night’s White Tops Hill Race. Kristian Jones of the Hawks took just over a minute off Jamie Crowe’s 2016 record and Dundee Road Runner’s Anwen Darlington took just over a minute off Alison McGill’s 2011 record. 42 runners turned out on a fine evening which turned cold and misty just as the race got underway! No-one got lost in the mist thankfully and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves apart from Hawk Scott Dyer who had to pull out after rolling his ankle on the hill. Hope it heals quickly Scott. Full results are available via the link below.

I am announcing today that after 8 years of organising the Glas Tulaichean and White Tops races on behalf of the club, this year was my last year. I feel I’ve put in a good shift but it’s time for me to move over and let someone else do the organising. If anyone in the club wants to take responsibility, I will work with them to help keep the races alive and kicking. If no-one wants to take them on, I will offer other clubs the opportunity.



White Tops 2017 results


White Tops Hill Race

This year’s White Tops Hill race takes place at Kirkton of Auchterhouse on Friday 7th July at 7:30 pm. The race is open to anyone over the age of 17 and registration starts at 6pm in the village school hall. Prizes and refreshment will be available in the hall after the race

I still need volunteers to help with marshalling, in the village and on the hill, so if you are free on the evening please get in touch with me on 07714 221628 or email me at kingofthehills@sky.com

Glenrothes 10k

It was a glorious sunny day for the latest counter in the senior road race championship.  Eight Hawks made the trip to take part in the Glenrothes Road Running Festival 10k which also included races at 4k and 2k as well as a junior jog.  The race started and finished at the Michael Woods Sports centre following a fairly fast course through the surrounding streets and parks.  The heat resulted in tough conditions but the participating Hawks did the club proud yet again.  The race was won by PH Racing’s Roger Clark who led from start to finish in a time of 35:02.  Mike Herron (35:12) and Johnny McBain (35:27) finished strongly over the last 2 miles to claim podium places with Billy Gibson dropping into 4th after contesting the lead during the first half of the race.

There were also PB performances for Andrew Leech (37:12) and birthday boy Kenny Liddell (38:12).

First home for the ladies was Jennifer Learmonth (41:32) followed home by Nicola Tully in 50:45.

Phil Forte took an unassailable lead in the v60 championship with 4 wins from 4 races in the category.  With 5 races to go in the series a late entrant is required to knock Phil off his perch!!




Senior Road Race Championship

The Stuart Duncan Memorial 5k run on the 5th of September 2017 has been chosen to replace the cancelled Heal Physio race.  Entries are now open on Entry Central.

Glas Tulaichean Uphill Race

The next race in the club’s hill championship series is the club-hosted Glas Tulaichean uphill race which takes place on Saturday 3rd June at the very scenic Dalmunzie Estate in Glenshee (Spittal of Glenshee) This is a great opportunity for anyone interested in running on the hills to dip their toes, literally, into hill racing. The race follows a well-defined path (with a couple of short river crossings) from the farm up to the summit of Glas Tulaichean, which is a Munro if you want to claim “bagging a Munro.” Once at the summit you can jog back down at your own pace to the farm where there will be refreshments available. Entry on the day and Registration at the farm from 12:00 to 13:15 latest.

I am also  desperately looking for someone to help timekeeping at the summit so please get in touch if you can help 07714 221628

There’s also the Glas T “Toe Tickle” race for small kids if families want to let their wee ones run up a wee hill and down again – sweets and a certificate for finishers (as long as they are still smiling at the finish line!


Dave H

Indoor Championship Winners

Congratulations to our trophy winners for the Winter Indoor Season 2016/2017. (These will be presented at the Summer Running Festival on 11th June)

SM Dave Williamson

u20m Michael Tarnawsky
u20w Katie Patullo

u17m Jamie Reid
u17w Rachel Broadfoot

u15b Blair Scott
u15g Megan Gowans

u13b Kieran Simpson
u13g Alex Tully

u11b Ryan Ferrier
u11g Willow Scott.

You can find the final results of those who have completed enough events HERE

Senior Road Running – intermediate group

Following some recent enquiries the club are looking at the possibility of an intermediate road running group.  This would bridge the gap between the existing jog Scotland and senior road running groups.  Sessions likely to take place on a Tuesday from Caird park initially.  Anyone interested in taking part in this group should contact Billy Gibson at calumruaridh@googlemail.com

Senior Road Championsip

We have been informed by Gordon Barrie that the Heal Physiotherapy 4k race that was planned as a road race championship event will not take place this year.  This is as a result of the ongoing work along the race route.  An alternative event will be added in the near future.

One of the greatest things about online dating is that best hookup dating sites is free