2018 Christmas handicap

We are working hard to finalise details for this year’s club handicap races. The races will take place on Sunday 16th December, with the first races for U 13s starting at 12 noon. Subject to confirmation from Caird Park golf club that we can use their facilities, the races will take place in Caird Park over a modified route, due to ongoing construction works.

There will be a simplified route with everyone racing one or more laps over the bottom part of the park. It’s relatively flat with one downhill section and a climb up the steps near the burn to the finish.

More details of the timings and the new race route are on the “Events” page of this site

As usual, there will be tasty steak pies for the winner in each age category and refreshments will be available after the race.

As soon as I have confirmation from the golf club, I will post this on the website and the Facebook page.

Looking forward to a good turnout for the races this year


Sidlaw Sunset Chase Race results

Tonight saw 11 Hawks out on the Sidlaw hills for the latest Sunset Chase race. Unfortunately there was little sight of the sunset. A total of 24 turned out for the race which continues the upward trend of support for this race. Johnny McBain set a new male course record of 35:27 and new Hawk; Jo Simpson (running for Ambleside tonight) set a new ladies course record of 42:17.

A few wrong turnings meant some got temporarily lost, but everyone got back to the finish line before the need for the head torches to come out!

This race now concludes this year’s hill racing championship series and full results of that; are on the relevant page on this website. This year’s champions are:

Overall Champion – Steve Matthews;  M40 Champion – Ray Tully; M50 Champion – Alan Kennedy; M60 Champion – Dave Hanlon; M70 Champion – Steve Cromar.

Unfortunately none of the Ladies categories were fully contested

Thanks to everyone who helped out on the night.

Results here

Sept 2018

Senior Cross Country Championships are getting hot

After the last of the east league races at Broxburn on Saturday, there are still lots of age categories which can still be won or lost at the compulsory Masters (V40+) and or Nationals XC races next month.

This year we have seen record numbers of participation in the XC season which is great for the club and a huge shout out to the under 11 girls who won the East League series. First team victory in any age category since 2004. Well done girls!

In the U20 men, both James Donald and Callum McCormack can win depending on the results at the Nationals. Same for the senior men where the Nationals will decide whether Chris Walsh or Kenny Liddell will win. Billy Gibson win will the V40 category if he completes the Masters. Both Nigel Reynolds and Marco Placentino can win the V50 category depending on the Masters/Nationals. Dave Hanlon will win the V60 category if he completes the Masters and Pancho Hernandez has the V70 category wrapped up if he completes the Masters event.

In the ladies events, Amy Mollison looks hot favourite for the U20 category as long as she completes the Nationals to hold off I. Remers and Eilidh Reynolds. Kirsty Reynolds has the senior ladies championship in the bag if she completes the Nationals; same for Diane Placentino on the V40 category but watch our for Cat Matthews. Tracey Passway in the V50 category can win at the Masters or the Nationals.

Current standings are now on the relevant page on the website.



Provisional Devils Burdens teams

Here are the provisional DB teams for this year. Thanks to everyone for responding to the arm-twisting and cajoling – we really appreciate you turning out for the club. If anyone else want to run, please let me know as things always go awry on the day.

Hawks A

Leg1: Dave Hanlon Leg 2:  Mike Galloway/Steve Matthews Leg3: TBC/Marco Placentino  Leg4: Al McDonald

Hawks B

Leg1: Ken Letham  Leg2: Stuart Morton/Dave Ewing  Leg3 Charlie Love/ Alan Kennedy

Leg4 Raymond Tully

Hawks Ladies 

Leg1:  Vicky Brown  Leg2: Cat Matthews/Diane Placentino  Leg3: Cheryl Walls/Pam Scott

Leg4 Nicola Tully

reserves: Elayne


2018 Hill Racing Championship Series

There are some changes to the format of this year’s hill racing championship series which were discussed and approved at the last committee meeting. All the changes are designed to encourage wider participation and to simplify the format. The principles are:

  1. Publish the races earlier to try to allow other series organisers to plan
  2. Keep the races as local as possible
  3. Keep to shorter distance races where possible
  4. Qualification is 5 races (categories are not considered)
  5. Points scoring is the same as previous years
  6. Age categories remain the same

This year’s races will include two “club” races in the Sidlaws after positive feedback from last year’s racers. These races are free to enter and are open to any other club or unattached athlete. They are not on the SHR Calendar and are not SA licensed events (at present)


17/03/2018  Sidlaw Sunset Chase (Winter)

24/03/2018  Birnam Hill Classic

28/04/2018  Norman Law Hill Race

17/05/2018  Kinnoull Hill Race

26/05/2018  Glas Tulaichean Uphill

15/06/2018  White Tops Hill Race

TBC  Largo Law

12/08/2018  Lomonds of Fife Hill Race

12/09/2018  Sidlaw Sunset Chase (Summer)

The Largo Law hill race is included in the series, but at present the date has not been confirmed. Also Kinnoull Hill Race is on the calendar as 17th May but still to be confirmed

Billy Gibson is organising this year’s White Tops Race and Steve Matthews is organising  Glas Tulaichean. I hope that the club will support them as much as possible to ensure the continued success of these races


1st additional hill race added to championship series

The first additional hill race added to the current championship series will take place on Saturday 26th August. This will be the race which is part of the Auchterhouse Sports Day. The race starts at 3pm and you can register on the day. Auchterhouse Sports day committee would like anyone intending to race to use the online form to indicate numbers. It’s not binding or compulsory but helps them organise the race. Copy and paste the shortcut below into your browser

Entry fee is £3




New records set at White Tops Hill Race

Local athletes set new course records at last night’s White Tops Hill Race. Kristian Jones of the Hawks took just over a minute off Jamie Crowe’s 2016 record and Dundee Road Runner’s Anwen Darlington took just over a minute off Alison McGill’s 2011 record. 42 runners turned out on a fine evening which turned cold and misty just as the race got underway! No-one got lost in the mist thankfully and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves apart from Hawk Scott Dyer who had to pull out after rolling his ankle on the hill. Hope it heals quickly Scott. Full results are available via the link below.

I am announcing today that after 8 years of organising the Glas Tulaichean and White Tops races on behalf of the club, this year was my last year. I feel I’ve put in a good shift but it’s time for me to move over and let someone else do the organising. If anyone in the club wants to take responsibility, I will work with them to help keep the races alive and kicking. If no-one wants to take them on, I will offer other clubs the opportunity.



White Tops 2017 results


White Tops Hill Race

This year’s White Tops Hill race takes place at Kirkton of Auchterhouse on Friday 7th July at 7:30 pm. The race is open to anyone over the age of 17 and registration starts at 6pm in the village school hall. Prizes and refreshment will be available in the hall after the race

I still need volunteers to help with marshalling, in the village and on the hill, so if you are free on the evening please get in touch with me on 07714 221628 or email me at kingofthehills@sky.com